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GASLANDS: REFUELLED 
Errata & FAQs 

Version 1.2 - 28 July 2020 – Recent updates in pink 

 

ERRATA 
TEMPLATE SUMMARY 
On page 18, replace the table with the following table: 

Gear 1 2 3 4 5 6 

Short Straight       

Medium Straight       

Long Straight       

Gentle       

Turn       

Hard       

Hairpin       

Veer       

Swerve       

 

Key: 

 
Permitted & Trivial 

 
Permitted 

 
Permitted & Hazardous 

 
Not Permitted 

 

Due to a printing error, the table in the book does not 

make it clear which gears each template is NOT 

permitted in. 

ADVANCED WEAPONS 
In the table on page 72, the Combat Laser says “See 

special rules”, but doesn’t have or need any. Please 

ignore. 

DROPPED WEAPONS 
On page 77, add the “Large Burst” special rule to each 

of: 

• Glue Dropper 
• Oil Slick Dropper 
• Smoke Dropper 

 

CLARIFICATIONS 
When a wrecked vehicle is respawned, does 

its ammo reset? 

No. It is respawned with the same number and type of 

ammo tokens it had when it got wrecked. 

If you flip while on a ramp, and your 

movement template touches the end of the 

ramp? 

Yeah, rules as written, you ignore the ramp because the 

flip movement ignores obstructions, and you don’t trigger 

it. Rule of cool, you definitely do. 

What are ‘Evade dice’ and how can they roll a 

6+? 

Evade dice are normal D6. They can’t roll more than 6 

naturally, but some upgrades and rules give bonuses to 

the roll, allowing them to have an effective score of more 

than 6. 

If I activate and wreck, then spend Audience 

votes to respawn, do I get to active again? 

No, each vehicle can only activate once in each gear 

phase that it qualifies for. The respawned vehicle is the 
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same as the one that was destroyed and so has already 

taken its activation for this gear phase. 

If I activate and wreck such that my opponent 

would win with last man standing, can I 

respawn if I have the votes and stop them 

winning? 

Yes, there is a chance at the end of every gear phase to 

spend votes and last man standing doesn’t trigger until 

the gear phase is over, so you have one shot to respawn 

and save the game. 

If I activate with zero crew in first or second 

gear there are no templates available (since I 

have to select a hazardous template) so I have 

to pick an illegal template, then my opponent 

has to choose a legal template.  How do they 

do that if none are legal? 

Zero crew means that only hazardous templates are legal 

during the movement step.  The other player selection 

step of the “touch it use it rule” is outside of the normal 

movement step and so the other player can select any 

template normally legal for the zero crew vehicle. 

 

VEHICLES, WEAPONS & 

UPGRADES 
Can a performance car trigger Slip Away 

during its own activation? 

Yes. 

Do Dropped Weapons count as “shooting 

attacks”? Are crew-fired weapons “shooting 

weapons”? Are grenades and similar 

“shooting weapons”? 

Any weapon that requires a target counts as a shooting 

weapon and makes shooting attacks. Dropped weapons 

are not shooting weapons and most make non-shooting 

attacks (except for the shooting attacks from the Sentry 

Gun” or the tiny handgun on the RC cars). The Thumper 

and the Wall Of Amplifiers also don’t make shooting 

attacks as they don’t require targets.  

Does the wording of Wrecking Ball mean all 

vehicles count as having no weapons or 

upgrades except Wrecking Ball or that all 

vehicles except the vehicle with the Wrecking 

Ball have no weapons or upgrades? 

All vehicles count as having no weapons or upgrades, 

except Wrecking Ball.  

Does weight difference effect the dice rolled 

during a Wrecking Ball collision? 

Yes.  Weight difference is not a perk or upgrade and so 

still effects the number of dice rolled.  In the case of a 

weight increase due to a perk, the vehicle is treated as 

being its normal starting weight. 

When I purchase a crew weapon for a vehicle 

how many copies of that weapon do I get and 

how many crew can use it? 

Each time you buy a crew weapon, you get one copy. 

Each copy of a crew weapon can only be used by a single 

crew member at a time, unless it has the “blitz” special 

rule. Essentially, you have bought a single magnum 

pistol (for example) and put it into the car: any 

crewmember can pick it up and fire it, but two people 

can’t fire it at the same time. 

If I harpoon a car and drag it backwards so 

that its rear contacts my front, is that a head-

on because they moved in reverse? 

No. Moving in reverse is its own specific rule, being 

dragged backwards is different, this would be a rear 

ender. 
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If I harpoon the rear of a car into my side 

what then? 

That’s a T-bone, since the contact of rear and side 

qualifies both as rear ender and T-bone, rule of carnage 

selects T-bone. 

Since harpoon hits don’t do damage can they 

be evaded before hits with damage and no 

special rules? 

No. Hits with special rules must be evaded after ones 

without, irrespective of the damage potential of those 

hits. 

If I have two harpoons fitted and hit the same 

car with both of them, do I spend two hits 

spinning them towards me? 

No, you pool your results then resolve them, so you got 

however many harpoon hits from both harpoons, the first 

of which spins the target, the rest reel them in. 

If I spin a target with the harpoon and an 

obstacle stops them so they’re not facing me, 

do I pull them in a line away from me, or 

sideways towards me or what? 

You don’t get to pull them at all.  The harpoon lets you 

move cars short straight directly towards you only, if you 

can’t move them short straight in a way that goes straight 

towards you then you can’t move them, and you only get 

to use short straights aligned at the front or back end of 

the vehicle. 

Can I drag someone through multiple non-

destructible obstacles with a harpoon? 

No. The harpoon moves are not part of the movement 

step, rather they are forced moves, so a vehicle does not 

ignore obstacles that they start touching during them.  

Between this and the previous rule, you only get to 

harpoon a vehicle into a single collision per harpoon hit. 

If I fit a lightweight trailer onto a 

heavyweight vehicle and someone collides 

with it, what weight class do I count as? 

Heavyweight. Trailers are upgrades and don’t actually 

have a weight class, only vehicles and obstacles have 

weight classes, the trailer changes the footprint of a 

vehicle, but not its weight class.  

Lightweight, Middleweight and Heavyweight are here 

just confusing names, not rules categories, think of them 

as small, medium and large if that helps. 

Bombs Away/Trunk of Junk says that I can 

attack any number of times with dropped 

weapons. Does this mean that I can attack 

more times than I have crew/fitted 

weapons/ammo? 

No. The normal rules only allow you to attack with one 

dropped weapon per activation, Bombs Away and Trunk 

of Junk allow you to ignore this rule. You still need the 

ammo, crew and enough copies of the weapon or enough 

different weapons to attack multiple times. 

SPONSORS & PERKS 
Can the “Highway to Hell” perk be used 

before gate 1 in a Death Race? 

Yes, as with all perks it is active from the start line. 

Can the Cult use “Fire Walk With Me” and 

“Purifying Flames” to heal more damage than 

they take? 

Fire Walk With Me says “...may reduce the damage 

received...” Purifying Flames literally says “This damage 

cannot be reduced”.  

This means, unless you actually take the damage and 

check off hull points, you don’t heal the other vehicle. No 

way out of that devil’s deal. 
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Can vehicles with the Ghost Rider rule both 

use and be affected by dropped weapons? 

Yes. 

Can vehicles with the Ghost Rider rule that 

have been “removed from play” be 

respawned? 

Yes, they can be respawned. 

The “removed from play” wording is there to say “don’t 

wreck the vehicles”. There’s nothing permanent about it. 

It just stops any effect that might trigger off of the being 

“wrecked” occurring, such as gaining an audience vote 

for having a vehicle wrecked. 

Can a vehicle with the Ghost Rider rule pick 

up zombies during the “Zombie Bash” 

scenario? 

No, a vehicle with the Ghost Rider rule can never 

contribute to the victory conditions of a scenario, so they 

cannot pick up Flags in Capture the Flag or Zombies 

during Zombie Bash. 

How does Beverly’s respawn mechanic work? 

When you have an opportunity to spend audience votes, 

you can respawn any vehicle you have lost previously in 

the game, even if you have more than one vehicle 

currently in play. 

You pay either 3AV or 1AV. If you pay 1AV, you are 

forced to give the respawned vehicle the ghost rider rule, 

if you pay the regular 3AV, you are not.  

If you pay 1AV to spawn a ghost and you don’t have a 

non-ghost on the table, that ghost immediately gets 

removed because of soul anchor, so all that happened is 

that you wasted a vote. 

When a vehicle is forced to reduce its gear by 

the Highway Patrol’s Siren effect, does it also 

gain a hazard token for changing gear? Does it 

gain one or two hazards? 

One. The wording is unclear but the intention is that that 

target vehicle only gains the hazard from changing gear 

and not an additional hazard as well.  

Can a spin/slide/hazard result from Taunt be 

cancelled? 

The skid dice results from Taunt may be cancelled using 

a shift result during the target’s next activation.  

Does the player that declares a PIT reaction 

both select and place the forced movement 

template? 

No. The controller of the vehicle selects the template for 

the forced movement and the controller of the target 

vehicle places it.  

Does the PIT allow normal collision 

reactions? 

Yes, but you can’t evade it, and since both vehicles aren’t 

evading, Smashing back is really the only sane choice. 

Does PIT do any damage? 

No. Though if you’re doing it right the target ought to 

find a wall in their immediate future… 

When a vehicle uses the Slipstream perk, does 

the wording mean that they gain a second 

hazard or just to clarify that they gain the 

normal one? Does it gain one or two hazards? 

One. The wording is unclear but the intention is that the 

vehicle just gains a single hazard for using the Slipstream 

effect.  
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Can I use Eureka to magic up a BFG on a 

facing other than front-facing? 

No. The BFG is specifically front-facing only.  

Do I have to have bought the weapon that I 

select when using the Eureka perk? 

No, that’s sort of the point. 

Can Rusty use a long straight with a Nitro? 

Yes. Rusty doesn’t consider the long straight permitted, 

but can still use it as a forced movement, as can anyone 

when they use a Nitro in a gear when the Long isn’t 

normally permitted.  If other forced movement causes 

Rusty to use a straight, that’s fine too. 

Does Old Fashioned Corn Liquor affect the 

vehicle carrying it? 

Yes. The vehicle is with medium range of itself. 

If I use ‘Don’t Come Knocking’ and pick up 4 

hazards, can I trigger other abilities that 

require me to gain hazards, like ‘Dead 

Weight’? 

No. Dead Weight (for example) says “this vehicle may gain 

2 Hazard Tokens to count as one weight-class heavier”. 

Gaining the hazard tokens is the payment you must 

make to activate the ability: if you can’t gain the tokens, 

you can’t get the effect. 

Since Vehicles are in range of themselves, do I 

get hit by my own ‘Splashback’ attack? 

No, although you’re in range of yourself, only other 

vehicles are valid targets for attacks (p30), so you’re not a 

valid target for your splashback attack. 

Can I target myself with ‘Taunt’ 

No, only other vehicles are valid targets for anything that 

requires a target (p30). 

SCENARIOS 
During “Capture the Flag” what happens if a 

vehicle carrying a Flag drives off the play 

area? 

Technically it would mean that the Flag is potentially 

forever unreachable. Instead, when a vehicle leaves play, 

drop the Flag within short range of the point that the 

vehicle exited the table. 

During “Capture the Flag” what happens if a 

vehicle carrying a Flag explodes? 

Technically it would mean that the Flag is potentially 

forever unreachable. Instead, drop the flag within short 

range of the vehicle before it explodes. 

 


