Forum Replies Created

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 55 total)

Glenn's Replies

  • in reply to: Harpoon & Ramp… (I Know, I know) #8085
    Avatar
    Glenn
    Moderator

    Well, RAW is actually pretty clear on this, your template or final position overlaps the ramp, you resolve a jump, whatever makes that movement happen. If they’re in a high gear you’ve basically harpooned them as they launched into midair and they’re now swinging towards you at speed in a death from above kind of move, if they’re in a low gear you’ve dragged them off the ramp kicking and squealing. Now, if they get yanked off backwards they’d then move forwards if they made the jump (although how you manage to get someone backwards off a ramp is its own question), you can either see this as someone really gunning the engine as you drag them towards the edge of the drop then hammering forwards when the line finally snaps, but you would be forgiven for stretching the rules for reversing into any backwards movement at that point and having them jump off backwards.

    in reply to: Flips #8084
    Avatar
    Glenn
    Moderator

    Would that mean that a Wipeout causes cars to miss a whole turn to get back on their wheels? That would be quite punishing.

    in reply to: Ramp and Wipeout #8063
    Avatar
    Glenn
    Moderator

    Hi Nathan.

    The sequence on this one runs like this:
    Resolving Wipeout:
    3.1 Flip Check – If lower than current Gear, suffer 2 hits and forced move Medium Straight forward.

    Ramps:
    If a vehicle’s movement template or Final Position overlaps any edge other than the entry edge, they stop at the edge of the Ramp and roll a D6 (resolve the jump).

    Resolving Wipeout:
    3.2 Reset – Reduce Gear to 1 and discard all hazards.
    3.3 Lose Control – Get Spun.

    So you flip, find yourself in a position that triggers the ramp, trigger the ramp, then lose your gears and hazards and get spun.

    in reply to: Momentum question #8020
    Avatar
    Glenn
    Moderator

    Yes, you still get the hazards for resolving set aside Spins and Slides. No, you still get the Hazard when using Push It. Push It is separate, you don’t get a hazard for re-rolling dice using Momentum, but you can’t re-roll the locked in dice using Push It.

    in reply to: Collisions – 'How many dice' clarification #8018
    Avatar
    Glenn
    Moderator

    As Adran says, it was always rolling own gears for a T-bone.

    The background reasons is that all movement in Gaslands is simultaneous, when you hit someone in a T-bone, they didn’t move up and then you slammed into them, they’re moving across you as you hit them, so their speed is relevant. In the case of a stationary object they’re actually stationary, not just stationary as an abstract game effect.

    in reply to: RC Car Bombs #7920
    Avatar
    Glenn
    Moderator

    Mostly I’m amazed that someone can keep RC car bombs alive long enough for them to become tedious in that fashion. Can I ask what scenarios you’re playing and how the RC car player is deploying them?

    in reply to: Corn Liquor, Gyrocopters, and Death Ray #7900
    Avatar
    Glenn
    Moderator

    1) In total, four, the rules are quite clear that each shift result is resolved one at a time, so this is not a case of two dice being resolved to gain two hazards increasing to three, its a case of one dice causing two hazards, then one dice causing two hazards.

    2) The intention is that you should be able to do anything to the gyrocopter except smash into it and everything effects the ghost vehicles except shooting or smashing into them. The wording comes up a little weird with the gyrocopter because it states that vehicles can target it during their “attack steps” so pure RAW a splash back could effect them if it was triggered during the attack phase but not the wipeout phase. A-C should effect both of them, D should not effect Beverly.

    3) Yes you can.

    in reply to: Eureka! qeustion: Ammo tokens #7883
    Avatar
    Glenn
    Moderator

    I love that read. The intention is that the vehicle counts as being fitted with the chosen weapon on the chosen facing as though you’d bought it as normal during set-up, so it is considered to have whatever ammo it comes with as standard.

    in reply to: Collisions, “Highway to Hell” and Dropped weapons #7879
    Avatar
    Glenn
    Moderator

    Good questions all.

    1) It states under dropped weapon rules that they do not count as overlapping the active vehicle when placed, this means that it actually can’t hit the active vehicle.
    2) Highway to Hell specifies that it triggers at the end of the movement step, so technically the sequence would go like this:

    Move to final position.
    Collision Window.
    Spin.
    Collision Window.
    End of Movement step, trigger Highway to hell, movement template becomes napalm.
    Attack step.
    Declare targets.
    Roll Attack dice.
    Collision window – Resolve the Napalm template.

    So you can’t set someone on fire with the movement template that is causing you to hit them, because it won’t become napalm until the end of the movement step, which will be after you resolve your collision with them. Nice try though.

    If you hit multiple vehicles with Napalm it specifies that it effects the first vehicle and then is removed, so only one. Simultaneous Effects on page 14 states that if multiple special rules would resolve at the same time the active vehicle gets to choose the order of resolution. So the sequence would be, template gets placed overlapping two vehicles, that are effected simultaneously. Therefore, active vehicle chooses one to resolve first, resolving the Napalm removes the Napalm, and the second effect no longer exists to resolve. It happens in the next Collision window. So the template is placed in declaration of targets step and resolves in the Collision window immediately following it.

    in reply to: Schadenfreude Timing #7833
    Avatar
    Glenn
    Moderator

    Good question. In short no, there’s not a single step at the start of the wipeout phase where you check the hazard levels of all cars then mark them for wipeouts irrespective of what happens following that point. Rather you resolve the wipeout of the active vehicle, then any other vehicles belonging to the active player, then those belonging to the player to their left, and so on, one at a time, until there are not vehicles with six or more hazards on them. So if the first vehicle to wipe-out does something that causes the hazards on other remaining vehicles to reduce (or more usually increase) that can mean that they will go from not wiping out to wiping out and visa versa.

    Specifically, if you’re the active player, you’re wiping out no matter what, but if you’re not you might get out of it with Schadenfreude.

    in reply to: Start line carnage! Rules help needed? #7787
    Avatar
    Glenn
    Moderator

    Didn’t see the date, accursed necro posts.

    in reply to: Start line carnage! Rules help needed? #7785
    Avatar
    Glenn
    Moderator

    Not sure.

    Basically I can’t make out what’s happened from the photo you’ve shown because it looks like it shouldn’t have happened. Firstly, each player puts one car to each row of the starting grid, each row of the starting grid should be as wide as the number of players and the grid should be as deep as needed for all cars to be deployed. It looks like you’ve deployed three wide and two deep when it should be two wide and three deep which changes the number of vehicles that can reach out and touch each other with rams.

    If you line up two cars on each row of the grid a car that takes the medium straight should only be able to be rammed by one other car, the car whose on the same line of the grid taking a turn of some sort. So the lead car should be on three or four hazards, the ramming car is now reachable for a retaliation ram and it tends to mean that the lead car pulls away and the ramming player learns for next time to not attempt a ram until you’re going to mess someone up with it, and the issue kind of sorts itself out.

    If I’m wrong can you explain roughly the sequence of events that led to the image shown?

    in reply to: Collision questions #7784
    Avatar
    Glenn
    Moderator

    Yep. Basically, if something interrupts a movement you resolve the collision then if the thing that interrupted the collision isn’t there anymore, for whatever reason, you can finish off the movement. This is also true for pile driver.

    in reply to: Monster trucks , Up and over, and distraction. #7735
    Avatar
    Glenn
    Moderator

    No problem. Distracted only stops the active vehicle shooting if it is contacting an obstruction at the start of its attack step. So if you go up and over, or use Piledriver, or if the obstruction is destroyed during the movement step then you’re free to shoot.

    So, just for clarity, if a vehicle touches things in the movement step, that doesn’t matter for distracted, its only relevant if they’re touching something at the start of the attack step.

    in reply to: Harpoon Clarification #7732
    Avatar
    Glenn
    Moderator

    Understood. But then, a slide incorporates sideways movement (especially when using perks like Maximum Drift with Maxxine), so I don’t know that I agree that it’s a strict no on sideways movement. My thought was that a side-mounted harpoon would turn you so that your side is perpendicular to the line of the shot, and then you’d force move along that path. Not really “diagonal” movement.

    No, sideways movement does exist in Gaslands, but diagonal movement does not. If the rule were based on some kind of directional logic that the vehicle is dragged down the line of the harpoon then applying that logic to a turret would occasionally ask a vehicle to move in a diagonal direction. As such that logic is abandoned in favour of alignment, and front/back is the standard Gaslands alignment, so that’s what it is. Frankly, if a buggy fired a harpoon out of its side at a War Rig it would presumably actually be immediately yanked off its wheels, flipped over and dragged along upside down behind the rig like some sort of swingball.

    Funnily enough, no diagonal movement was one of Mike’s earliest golden rules during development, which is sort of ironic because originally pretty much all slide movement was done diagonally.

    So this 41 can beast, that I dub the Harpoon Headache, is not Glenn Friendly?

    Could be worse, at least its heavyweight so it never gets dragged. Its basically a car black hole.

    double front mounted harpoons on a medium weight vehicle, that manages to shoot a light weight with one, and a heavy weight with the other, now that’s going to give Glenn headaches.

    Now that is horrible. Don’t do that. And if you do, don’t come running to me when it all goes terribly wrong.

    I’m now very tempted to try multiple harpoons as a way to completely re-position my cars during the shooting phase because if both directional movements are my car don’t I get to decide which to do first? Or do I have to plot both routes and see if either causes a collision and if so I have to do it that way?

    Well, technically you’d need to plot all possible routes and select the one that had the highest likely hood of causing the highest impact collision involving opposing players. Even if they were all your vehicle then a collision would cause hazard tokens which ups the possibility of carnage, so rule of carnage would still apply. But the geometric trigonometry question there is so un-Gaslandsy that if it ever comes up all vehicles involved should probably just immediately burst into flames.

    in reply to: Collision questions #7731
    Avatar
    Glenn
    Moderator

    1) Yes, it now causes a collision.

    2) Yes, you need to downshift to first. If you smash into something so huge that you can’t get through it with any of the templates then your interrupted position is at the start of your template, and you stay there until you get down to first and can make a three point turn.

    in reply to: Another Harpoon question #7710
    Avatar
    Glenn
    Moderator

    As I say, we did muck about with it for a while. There was a rule where if two friendly vehicles had harpooned each other and then moved with the harpoon intact they could clothesline other cars. Bikes suffered extra. It was waaaaay too complex for the final game, but it was a certain sort of fun.

    in reply to: Harpoon Clarification #7709
    Avatar
    Glenn
    Moderator

    Hi,

    No, these ones seem new.

    1) No, you don’t move sideways, you pivot. As for direction, if the target is directly perpendicular to you side so it would literally be 90 degrees either way, you pivot your front towards them, since that would increase the dice of any following collisions so rule of carnage kicks in.

    The rules tell you to turn to face, not to turn aligned to the line of the shot. I agree that thematically sideways movement would make more sense, but to do that you’d need to allow diagonal movement on a turret harpoon and that is a golden no for Gaslands.

    2) Firstly, no, they don’t drag with you. Again, thematically maybe they should, but rules as written, absolutely not. To keep relative positions this would again require diagonal movement of the dragged vehicle and that is not permitted in Gaslands.

    This sort of resolves again if you strictly follow the rule of carnage. Since if the Harpooning vehicle moves first it would be moving away from a potential collision with the lighter harpooned vehicle that would be against the rule of carnage, so you have to move the lighter harpooned vehicle first. Then when it stops moving, the harpoon chain has snapped, then you move the harpooning vehicle towards the heavier harpooned vehicle with neither a theme nor rules reason to move the lighter harpooned vehicle.

    Please don’t fit multiple harpoons on a vehicle. It makes my head hurt.

    in reply to: Another Harpoon question #7660
    Avatar
    Glenn
    Moderator

    Firstly, yes, you are correct in all the above.

    In answer to your question, the target is snagged only for the current attack step. In background terms the target is snagged, hauled in, and then the line breaks or the harpoon is wrenched free, either due to a collision if there is one, or due to the target desperately gunning their motor in the other direction.

    There was an early version where harpooning and harpooned vehicles were connected, but it was too much bookkeeping and it never got off the alpha test level, but if you’re willing to put up with something more fiddly, feel free to house rule it. Personally I think its a rather fun idea.

    in reply to: Helicopter & Wrecking Ball #7654
    Avatar
    Glenn
    Moderator

    Yes, the Wrecking Ball makes vehicles involved count as not being equipped with any weapons or perks, but vehicle special rules are still in play. As such the Airborne rule, which stops Collisions from taking place, is still in play and so the Helicopter can’t use the Wrecking Ball according to RAW.

    That said, if you want to play an interesting scenario having some Helicopters with wrecking balls flying around like the buzz-saw ‘copter from Golden Eye can be fun, just wildly unbalanced, so feel free to ignore the rule if everyone agrees to some insanity temporarily.

    in reply to: Measuring and Cover #7558
    Avatar
    Glenn
    Moderator

    In theory, yes you might be able to do so, but in practice its pretty rare.

    The shooting template has to cover the shortest line between two vehicles and be aligned depending on its facing. That means that if the shortest line is dead straight and in the middle of the specified facing then yes, you have some wriggle room to shift it left and right a little and that might allow you to avoid a cover bonus for the target.

    If you can, do so, its more carnage so its all good.

    in reply to: Harpoon collision timings question #7509
    Avatar
    Glenn
    Moderator

    Yes, if there are multiple destructible obstacles its all good, or vehicles that get destroyed and get shifted out the way.

    Remember though that moves outside of the movement step do not ignore obstacles, so if a non-destructible obstacle is hit that’s pretty much it.

    in reply to: Tank Tracks. How do they work? #7508
    Avatar
    Glenn
    Moderator

    Nope, just the handling and terrain effects. Its so you can have snowmobiles rather than so that you can have dune buggies with recoil suppression on heavy artillery.

    in reply to: I am confused by Tombstone… #7491
    Avatar
    Glenn
    Moderator

    There are two separate effects. You’re right, you get the evade bonus whenever a car with Tombstone is targeted from the rear. The second effect is triggered, but the way it works is that you have to decide to take the hazards during your attack step, then every collision you’re in until your next activation is head-on. You don’t get to decide at the start of the collision or separately for each activation.

    Essentially, you’re carrying around a huge steel plate on the back of the car, its always protecting you against shooting, but it only causes other cars to be smashed up if you drop it into place.

    in reply to: Official FAQs #7488
    Avatar
    Glenn
    Moderator

    The current FAQ is here:

    Refuelled FAQ

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 55 total)