Forums Community General Gaslands with Classroom Robots

Topic: Gaslands with Classroom Robots

Andrew Woodbridge
    Participant

I am a high school robotics teacher. I was wondering if I could get some help on my plans to play a modified version in my classroom . . . with robots. I am still waiting for my rules book to arrive, but here is my plan so far:

I am going to have student groups each create a robot that is around 12″x6″ using Lego Technics EV3 kits. They will then write a program for each of the maneuvers in the game. The robots will all have a bumper which will stop the robot, so collisions can be resolved. We have a large shop space to run the game in.

Any suggestions on scaling it up would be appreciated.

Brian Kodaski
    Participant

Well, a 4’ square is recommended for 2” vehicles, so you should aim for a 24’ x 24’ play area. Terrain to match makes it more fun, but how will they handle Miyazaki drift?

Andrew Woodbridge
    Participant

Planning is moving along. I have scaled up templates (short template is now 16″), and have enough space and debris for 2 simultaneous games.

For spins, we are just going to pick up the robot and move it using the template. These are the adjustments to the rules so far:
    -I am ignoring sponsors
    -Rough terrain is going to be rough terrain and how their bot drives over it is what it is.
    -Smooth road terrain is going to be foam tiles, which the bots move the best on.
    -Cars will have a front bumper to pause movement to resolve a collision, then can stop or continue movement depending on the situation

The field will have 2 gates and a start/finish line, I need the games to run a bit shorter

I have 20 students in pairs. So 10 teams. Each team will be 2 vehicles, 40 points total. I will be running a round robin where each team plays 3 times. Top 4 teams will face off in a final rumble.

Again any help or feedback would be appreciated.

Richard Morandi
    Participant