Forums Community Rules Questions Braking?

Topic: Braking?

Murpagato
    Participant

So, obviously I am new to all of this – just picked up the Refuelled book (why not Refueled?)this past week, and am furiously modding vehicles and trying to learn the rules. Am I missing something, or is there really no braking option other than down shifting? I visualize something like hitting the brakes so your opponent passes you and enters your arc of fire, or slamming on brakes to avoid a collision – obviously with high probability for loss of control due to speed in the higher gears – but I have not come across anything like this yet. Am I overthinking things?

Glenn
    Participant

The only thing that is at all like that is the War Rig’s Tanker Anchor.

Generally though, no, there is no option for stopping moving in one gear phase of a turn then carrying on in another gear phase of the same turn. There are a bunch of reasons why, but the core of the answer is, that’s just not the Gaslands way. Fundamentally, in Gaslands moving again is pushing your luck, taking the risk and carrying on along the ragged edge, while stopping moving is playing it safe. In any push your luck gaming situation, once you bank, you’re out of the round, and in Gaslands stopping moving for the turn is a little like banking, it means you’re done for the round.

Adran
    Participant

One way you could do this is selecting a short straight rather than a medium straight so you are travelling less fast but still in the same gear. If you view the movement over the whole turn this will look like you are applying the brakes, but in the brief snap shot it might not be quite so obvious.
    When you hit the brakes in the real world you still move forwards during that period of braking, just at a lesser speed. So choosing a template that is less long will achieve this. (Also note that swerve and veer will move you forwards but to lesser amounts than a medium would)

Murpagato
    Participant